Pupy y Los que Son Son

By gregebersole

January 6, 2016

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I’m going to post just a few more in my series of Cuba trip posts. During my 2 week trip to Havana, I went to la Casa de Musica one evening. The band that was to play was called Pupy y Los que Son Son. I wasn’t familiar with them, but I had asked people about them beforehand. They all said they were very good. I got to the club in decent time that evening, but had to wait a long time before the band actually started to play. There was recorded salsa music beforehand and some people got up and danced to it. After the band began to play, the dance floor in front of the stage got very crowded. The group was very good and played Cuban style timba and salsa music. I worked my way through the crowded floor to get a few photos. Pupy or as his real name is listed, Cesar “Pupy” Pedroso, founded the band in 2001. He is 69 years old and plays mainly the keyboards. He was an original member of the great Cuban band, Los Van Van, which was founded in 1969 by Juan Formell, who died in 2015, at the age of 71. I went to the club alone and felt quite comfortable. A few people had told me I shouldn’t go alone since it gets rough at times. As usual, I ignored the warnings and went and enjoyed the music and the evening a lot.

Leave a Reply

