Guests

By gregebersole

February 20, 2016

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

Recently, I had my first guests in my Arizona home. Larry and Chris Nofziger stayed with me for two weeks. They were both friends of mine in college. Chris was a fellow art major and Larry was a roommate of mine. I’ve known them for a long time. It was great to have them here. Chris made many awesome meals and we spent a lot of time hiking in the beautiful desert near me. We also explored downtown Mesa and Tempe areas. They live in Alberta, Canada, where the winters can be pretty cold. They were happy for some dry and warm weather.

In a little over a month, I leave for Cali, Colombia. I plan to spend two months there, visiting friends and doing a lot of photography. I can’t wait to hear salsa music again and, maybe, dance in the salsa clubs. I’m also anxious to visit Siloé again and see my good friend, Pichi, and his family and take lots of photos there.

Living in Mesa has been good for me. I’ve spent a lot of time downsizing and I feel better about being able to take off and leave and spend time abroad. I’m loving to be able to live close to my son, Dylan, his wife, Mary, and their two sons, Alan and Andrew, and share activities with them. They have done a lot for me since moving here. I sure enjoy playing with my two grandsons. I never had that experience with my grandparents. Just, occasional visits since my family and I lived so far away from them. I loved the time I had with them, but wished I would have had more time to spend with them and get to know them better.

And, today, Dylan and I played our first game of HORSE in, probably, over 10 years. Who knows? Before he left for college, we used to play basketball almost every afternoon. We played one on one and HORSE and I loved those times. Today, I won both games. I thanked him for letting me win, but he said he didn’t. I guess my shooting practice sessions at my gym have payed off.

Leave a Reply

