Two more days in Arizona

By gregebersole

March 29, 2016

Category: Travel

Leave a Comment »

I celebrated Easter weekend by camping out by the Superstition Mountains with my son and his family and his wife’s parents, her sister and family and other relatives and friends. It was a beautiful weekend. Sunday morning early, Dave, a friend, and I started our hike and climb up Flatiron. It is one of the highest peaks in the Superstitions. It was about a 7.2 mile round trip ordeal. It took us about 6 hours. We spent almost an hour on top looking at the views in all directions, eating some snacks and working up the nerve and energy to start back down. It was a hard hike with a lot of bouldering involved. Very steep at times. Going down took a lot of stretching for hand and foot holds and a lot of patience was required, so as not to slide and fall. I’m glad I did the climb, though, and survived. Once is enough. It was very difficult. By evening, I could hardly walk and mostly drank a lot of fluids to re-hydrate and relaxed.

I now have 2 more days in Mesa before leaving Friday morning for 2 months in Cali, Colombia. I’m excited about getting back to my second home where I lived for about 5 1/2 years. My running shoes, with very little tread left, had their last hike. I need to get new shoes tomorrow so I can climb Las Tres Cruces in Cali a lot easier. I’m halfway packed for my trip. I have several last minute things to do yet and then I will be ready. Hopefully, I’ll be making more posts and more regularly from Cali.

The photo shows my sons’ tent with the Superstition Mountains in the background. My tent was next to his. In the center of the mountain range, is the Flatiron, sitting back a ways. The right side was a sheer face. It was pretty scary to get to the edge and look down.

Leave a Reply

